Breaking News

     Default scrolling announcements
Political News

Political News

Rate this item
(0 votes)
Imphal, 21 March 2017 : Yumnam Khemchand Singh has been elected the speaker to the 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly. BJP won the floor test with the support of 32 MLAs excluding the speaker. The process of choosing a full fledged speaker began at 10:30 AM. Govindas Konthoujam from congress and Yumnam Khemchand Singh from BJP ran the race to the speaker's chair. Protem Speaker, V. Hangkhanlian directed the BJP to raise a motion for electing Khemchand as the speaker of the house. After the BJP raised their motion, the protem speaker asked the congress to raise the motion for electing…
Rate this item
(6 votes)
Imphal, 20 March 2017 ( Evening News )  : Leader of Congress Party and former Chief Minister, Okram Ibobi has threatened of retaliations if the newly formed BJP led Govt takes up any actions against the 7 new districts formed for administrative conveniences. Speaking to media persons at the residence of Nambol MLA, Loken at Ghari last evening, Ibobi further said the congress party welcomes the lifting off of the 139 days old economic blockade called against the creation of 7 new districts, however it will bring a bad name to democracy if it is being done for the sake…
Rate this item
(4 votes)
Imphal, 15 March 2017 ( Evening News ) :Nongthombam Biren was sworn-in this afternoon as the first BJP Chief Minister of Manipur. A former journalist and footballer Biren was elected from Heingang constituency. He was a former minister in the Ibobi led congress govt. The swearing-in was held at the Raj Bhawan Banquet Hall at 1.25 pm. Governor Dr Najma A Heptulla administered the oath of office and secrecy to N. Biren and 8 other elected members of BJP,  NPP, LJP and NPF. Former DGP of Manipur Yumnam Joykumar was sworn-in as the deputy chief minister. The other cabinet ministers…
Rate this item
(5 votes)
Imphal, 14 March 2017 ( Evening News ) : MLA of Heingang AC, Nongthongbam Biren  will be sworn in as the new Chief Minister of Manipur by tomorrow afternoon says BJP Manipur In-charge,  Prahlad Singh Patel. The sworn in ceremony will be attended by BJP National President, Amit Shah and Chief ministers of three states; Assam, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim. Speaking with Impact News, Prahlad Singh Patel said the Chief Minister’s oath taking ceremony may be followed by oath taking by  MLAs of BJP and other Parties for new ministership roles. He further said preparation has already started for a…
Rate this item
(22 votes)
Imphal, 13 March 2017 ( Evening News ) : Chief Minister Okram Ibobi  will claim formation of new Congress led government by tendering his resignation to the Governor latest by tommorow. Speaking at a press meet of elected congress candidates at the residence of Nambol Assembly Constituency MLA  N Loken at Sangaiprou today, Ibobi further said the claims made by other parties of congress elected candidates joining other parties is false rumours. He further said no elected congress candidates are joining any other parties. He further clarified the media query regarding congress MLA Th. Shyamkumar joining BJP saying there is…
Rate this item
(3 votes)
Imphal, 12 March 2017 : The results of  60 seat Manipur assembly have been declared. The counting for Kakching seat is in progress. Till now congress has won 28 seats, BJP 21, NPP 4, NPF 4, LJP 1, AITC 1 and independent 1. Chief minister Okram Ibobi and deputy chief minister Gaikhangam are among the prominent winners. Ibobi and Gaikhangam retained their Thoubal and Nungba seats respectively. This is the fourth consecutive win for both the congress heavyweights. Speaker Th. Lokeshwar also retained his Khundrakpam seat. Ministers Govindas Konthoujam,  AK Mirabai, Ksh, Biren, D. Korungthang and Md Abdul Nasir also…
Page 7 of 39
« September 2021 »
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      

Like us on Facebook

Our Tweets