Breaking News

     >>>>> Chief Minister N. Biren graces First “Go To Hills” program of 2021 in Kamjong District Headquarter; unveils 12 Projects and lays foundation stones for 11 New projects >>     >>>>> Prime Minister Narendra Modi will launch world's largest COVID-19 vaccination program in India tomorrow morning via video conferencing >>>>>>     >>>>>>>>>New Impact Bouquet available from September 2020 >>>>>     >>>>>>>> India records 15 Thousand 590 new COVID-19 cases taking country's tally above One crore 5 Lakh 27 Thousand; recovery rate stands above 96 per cent >>>>>>     >>>> 15-day Special Handloom Expo 2021, organised by Directorate of Handlooms & Textiles since January 1st at Urban Haat in Nilakuthi concluded today >>>>>     >>>>> A combined team of Imphal East Narcotic Cell and YADA members have arrested a woman drug pedlar in possession of contraband 74 WY Tablets and 15 grams of Heroin No.4 Powder at Checkon Chassad Avenue in Imphal East District >>>>>

Former editor, N. Biren becomes first BJP CM of Manipur

(4 votes)

Imphal, 15 March 2017 ( Evening News ) :Nongthombam Biren was sworn-in this afternoon as the first BJP Chief Minister of Manipur. A former journalist and footballer Biren was elected from Heingang constituency. He was a former minister in the Ibobi led congress govt. The swearing-in was held at the Raj Bhawan Banquet Hall at 1.25 pm. Governor Dr Najma A Heptulla administered the oath of office and secrecy to N. Biren and 8 other elected members of BJP,  NPP, LJP and NPF. Former DGP of Manipur Yumnam Joykumar was sworn-in as the deputy chief minister. The other cabinet ministers who were sworn-in today are Th. Biswajit of BJP, L. Jayanta Kumar, Letpao Haokip, N. Kayisii of NPP, Karam Shyam of LJP, Losii Dikho of NPF and Th. Shyamkumar who was elected on congress ticket but joined the BJP. Y. Joykumar represents Uripok, Th. Biswajit Thongju, L. Jayanta Kumar Keishamthong, Karam Shyam Langthabal, Th. Shyamkumar Andro, N. Kayisii Chandel, Leipao Haokip Chandel and Losii Dikho represents Mao. The floor test of the first BJP government in the state will be held on the 22nd of this month. The portfolios of the chief minister, deputy chief minister and 7 cabinet ministers are yet to be announced. BJP national and state leaders, top civil and police officials, families of the newly elected members attended the swearing-in ceremony.

Former chief minister, Okram Ibobi and president of Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee, TN. Haokip attended the swearing-in ceremony. Speaker Th, Lokeshwar, former deputy chief minister, Gaikhangam and other former ministers were conspicuous by their absence. Olympian and Rajya Sabha MP Mary Kom, BJP leaders who lost in the recent elections, Th. Chaoba and Yungkham Erabot were also present at the event.  The crowd applauded when Th. Shyamkumar who was elected on Congress ticket shook hands with Okram Ibobi after he took the oath. The Banquet Hall was jam-packed with invitees and several persons remained standing throughout the function.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.

« January 2021 »
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Our Tweets

Media Partners