Breaking News

     >>>>>>> BOSEM 10, COHSEM 12 EXAMS POSTPONED; ALL PHYSICAL CLASSES SUSPENDED >>>>     >>>>> SECOND WAVE YET TO REACH MANIPUR, BUT POSSIBILITY HIGH: DR K RAJO >>>>>>     >>>>> Manipur Peoples' Party has condemned the recent attack on 4 trucks along the National Highways No 37 Imphal-Jiribam road >>>>>     >>FIRST PHASE ‘NATIONAL DEWORMING PROGRAMME’ KICKS OFF IN MANIPUR>>>>     >>>> >>>     >>> IINDIA REPORTS HIGHEST DAILY SPIKE WITH OVER 2.73 LAKH COVID-19 CASES >>>

CM Ibobi and Dy CM Gaikhangam retain their seats, BJP heavyweights Th. Chaoba, Y. Irabot and O. Joy lose to Congress candidates

(3 votes)

Imphal, 12 March 2017 : The results of  60 seat Manipur assembly have been declared. The counting for Kakching seat is in progress. Till now congress has won 28 seats, BJP 21, NPP 4, NPF 4, LJP 1, AITC 1 and independent 1. Chief minister Okram Ibobi and deputy chief minister Gaikhangam are among the prominent winners. Ibobi and Gaikhangam retained their Thoubal and Nungba seats respectively. This is the fourth consecutive win for both the congress heavyweights. Speaker Th. Lokeshwar also retained his Khundrakpam seat. Ministers Govindas Konthoujam,  AK Mirabai, Ksh, Biren, D. Korungthang and Md Abdul Nasir also retained their seats. BJP heavyweights Th. Chaoba in Nambol, Y. Irabot in Wangkhei and Okram Joy in Langthabal lost to Congress candidates.

Prominent losers of the congress party include former minister Th. Debendra, ministers M. Okendro, Dr Kh. Ratankumar, T. Manga Vaiphei and I. Hemochandra. Th. Debendra lost his Jiribam seat to an independent candidate while Okendro, Ratankumar and Hemochandra lost to BJP candidates. Former Deputy speaker Preshow Shimray lost his Chingai seat.  The 15 MLAs and Congress Candidates who lost the election are Dr. Ng. Bijoy, Md. Amin Shah, Karam Thamarjit, L. Nandakumar, Laisom Ibomcha, E. Chand, Kh. Devendro, K. Sharat, R.K. Anand, Dr I. Ibohalbi, E. Dwijamani, M. Prithiviraj, T. Mangibabu, Victor Keishing and Jangamlung Panmei.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.

« May 2021 »
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Our Tweets

Media Partners